Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Medical Cannabis - Patients

The ABC Board extended patients and caregivers a renewal grace period until Wednesday, September 1, 2021. Registered DC dispensaries may continue to accept expired DC medical cannabis registrations through September 1 if the listed expiration date on the registration is between March 1, 2020 - August 31, 2021.

Any DC-resident, including minors, may legally be recommended, purchase, possess, and use, medical cannabis to treat a diagnosed qualified medical condition or related side effect.

Enrolled patients and caregivers may purchase up to four (4) ounces of cannabis in any 30-day period and possess up to two (2) ounces at any time. Allowed formats include flowers, concentrates, edibles, transdermal products, seeds, and seedlings.

The District’s reciprocity rules allow non-DC residents enrolled in another jurisdiction’s active medical cannabis program to purchase medical cannabis at a DC-licensed dispensary. To purchase, the patient or caregiver must present a state or territory-issued medical card or document from a jurisdiction that has qualified for reciprocity.

Medical cards or documents issued by private companies such as NuggMD, even if issued by a healthcare practitioner, are not eligible.

Qualifying state and territory-issued medical cards and documents include:


New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Dakota
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island

Of Note

DC medical cannabis patients and caregivers are advised that reciprocity may not be extended to them by other states or territories even if those states or territory-issued medical cards or documents may be accepted in DC. Patients and caregivers are encouraged to contact those programs directly prior to traveling.

Patients and caregivers may purchase medical cannabis at any DC-licensed dispensary that they are registered. Find a dispensary near you.

Federal laws continue to apply including the prohibition of transporting medical cannabis across state lines. The use of medical cannabis is not permitted in public.

To Apply or Renew

All individuals must submit a Medical Cannabis Patient Application (adult or minor version) with all required documentation and payment. Applications may be submitted online, uploaded to Dropbox, or by mail.

To apply online (quickest method), select the category of healthcare professional that has made a medical cannabis recommendation for you. Before starting an application, gather all the required documents specified in the instructions. Applicants cannot save their progress. Hard copy applications are available at the bottom of this page.

Online Patient Application Forms

Please select the Healthcare Practitioner who referred you to the Medical Cannabis Program:

Valid Period and Fees

Patient cards are valid for one (1) year from date of issuance. See Fee and Renewal Schedule.

Replacement Cards

If a patient or caregiver experiences the theft, loss, or destruction of their registration card, the cardholder must notify ABRA within 24-hours of the discovery.

Replacement cards may be requested by completing and submitting a Medical Cannabis Patient Card Replacement Form (see below). A replacement card fee applies. 

Profile Updates/Program Withdrawal

Patients are required to maintain current profile information with ABRA including their first and last name, home address, designated caregiver, and recommending physician. Voluntary withdrawal from the program at any time requires written notification to ABRA.

Profile updates and withdrawal requests may be made by completing and submitting a Change of Information Form (see below).