DC residents, including minors, may legally be recommended, purchase, possess, and use, medical cannabis to treat a diagnosed qualified medical condition or related side effect. Non-resident patients may purchase medical cannabis from DC dispensaries if their jurisdiction has been extended reciprocity. A full list of eligible jurisdictions is detailed below.
Medical cannabis patients, including non-residents extended reciprocity, may purchase up to eight (8) ounces of cannabis within a rolling 30-day period and possess up to two (2) ounces at any time. Allowed formats include flowers, concentrates, edibles, transdermal products, seeds, and seedlings.
Federal laws continue to apply including the prohibition of transporting medical cannabis across state lines. The use of medical cannabis is not permitted in public.
To Apply or Renew
must submit a (adult or minor version). Applications may be submitted online , by mail, or in-person Monday-Friday, 9:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. Walk-in registrations take place at ABRA's Medical Cannabis Program office inside the Reeves Center located at 2000 14th Street NW, Suite 102A (First Floor), Washington, DC 20009.
Before starting your application, please gather all the required information and documents you will need to complete it. Incomplete applications cannot be saved and returned to later. Required items include:
A healthcare practitioner recommendation with a date of issuance within 2 years of the application submission date OR Self-Certification for individuals 65 and older*
Social Security Number or a copy of a sworn affidavit stating lack of one*
- One (1) current face photo, "2x2"*
- One (1) copy of DC DMV REAL ID* OR
- One (1) proof of DC residency and*
- One (1) copy of government-issued photo ID*
Printable applications and related documents are available at the bottom of this page.
- Physician (MD, DO)
- Advanced Practice Registered Nurse / Nurse Practitioner (APRN/NP)
- Physician Assistant
- Naturopathic Physician
To self-certify online, if you are 65 years of age or older, once you have entered your Date of Birth, the Self Certification option will appear in the Recommendation Information area (see example below). This Self-Certification affirms that you will only use cannabis for medical purposes in lieu of securing a recommendation from your healthcare provider.
Valid Period and Fees
Key program modifications are in effect on a temporary basis:
. Previously paid fees are non-refundable.
New and renewed patient and caregiver registrations are valid for two (2) years from the date of issuance. Persons who were issued a one (1) year registration on or after November 10, 2020 may request a new registration valid for two (2) years at no cost.
Non-resident patients must present their digital or physical government-issued medical cannabis registration. Medical cards or documents issued by private companies such as NuggMD, even if issued by a healthcare practitioner, are not eligible.
Reciprocity has been extended to patients registered in a medical cannabis program in the below U.S. jurisdictions. Reciprocity to DC patients is not guaranteed.
* Virginia patients may present a valid Virginia-issued registration or an expired Virginia-issued registration with a Virginia healthcare provider-issued recommendation dated within one calendar year of the purchase date effective July 1, 2022.