abra

Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration
 

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Extended Holiday Hours

Overview
Allows alcohol establishments to sell and serve alcohol up to 4:00 a.m. and operate 24-hours on select days in conjunction with District Government and federal holidays. The eligible holidays, and respective duration for each, are detailed below. Extended hours start the evening of the first date and end at 4:00 a.m. on the last date.

2022 Schedule

  • New Year's Day Weekend | Thursday, December 30 – Sunday, January 2
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Weekend | Friday, January 14 – Monday, January 17
  • Washington's Birthday Weekend | Friday, February 18 – Monday, February 21
  • DC Emancipation Day Weekend | Thursday, April 14 – Sunday, April 17
  • Memorial Day Weekend | Friday, May 27 – Monday, May 30
  • Juneteenth | Saturday, June 18 – Monday, June 20
  • Independence Day Weekend | Friday, July 1 – Monday, July 4
  • Labor Day Weekend | Friday, September 2 – Monday, September 5
  • Indigenous Peoples' Day Weekend | Friday, October 7 – Monday, October 10
  • Veterans Day Weekend | Thursday, November 10 – Sunday, November 13
  • Thanksgiving Day Weekend | Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27
  • Christmas Day Weekend | Friday, December 23 – Monday, December 26

Eligibility
On-Premises Retailers and Manufacturers with an On-Site Sales and Consumption Permit

To Apply
Licensees must complete an Extended Holiday Hours Application and Public Safety Form at least 30-days before the first holiday they would like to participate in. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

Of Note
Board Orders and Settlement Agreement terms apply and may affect eligibility. Extended hours may be restricted by Mayor’s Orders and ABC Board rulemakings.

Extended hours are similarly made available to alcohol establishments in conjunction with presidential inaugurals and playoff games involving DC-based professional sports teams. These events are distinct and require separate registration.

Valid Period and Fees
Registration is valid indefinitely and automatically carries into new licensure periods. There is no fee to participate