Alcoholic Beverage Regulation Administration

DC Agency Top Menu

Heat Emergency - A heat emergency is in effect for Washington, DC. Residents are urged to take precautions against the heat.
Find cooling centers, spray parks and more information about heat emergencies.


-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Tavern and Nightclub License Renewal Checklist

All taverns and nightclubs in the District are due to renew alcoholic beverage licenses by Friday, September 30, 2017.

Licensees should ensure they complete the following during the renewal season.

Check Your Mail

ABRA will mail renewal notices to all tavern and nightclub licensees by Friday, August 18, 2017. Notices will be mailed to a licensee's mailing address on file. If you do not receive your renewal notice in the mail, please notify ABRA as soon as possible by email or call (202) 442-4423. 

Renew In Person

Licenses can be renewed any time before the September 30, 2017 deadline. License renewals must be done in person at ABRA's office during business hours:

  • 8:30 am-3:30 pm, Monday-Friday
  • 2000 14th Street, NW, 4th Floor, Suite 400 South, Washington DC 20009

Provide the following when visiting the office:

  • Completed renewal application and all required documentation.
  • Completed and printed Certificate of Clean Hands. The certificate should be submitted with the renewal application and all other required documentation.
  • Government-issued ID.

During the renewal period, a licensee that has had a settlement agreement in place for at least four years has the option to apply to amend or terminate the agreement.

  • Follow all of the instructions and complete the proper form
  • File the form that you receive in the mailed renewal packet with ABRA by September 30, 2017 and at the same time as the renewal application.
  • The request is subject to the review and approval of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.

Make Payments

License fees may be paid by Visa or MasterCard, check, certified check, money order or cashier's check. Checks must be made payable to the DC Treasurer. Any applicant with outstanding fines or payment to ABRA, will need to complete payment before the renewal application can be processed.

Don't Be Late - Renew Early

In order to avoid long lines, licensees are encouraged to submit renewal applications to ABRA as early as possible. Renewals can be done any time after receipt of the renewal packet and before the September 30, 2017 deadline. Renewal applications not returned by deadline will be subject to a late fee of $50 per business day—not to exceed the cost of the license—and cancelation.

Post Renewal Placards

After the renewal application is received and processed:

  • ABRA will issue two renewal placards to the applicant. 
  • Both placards will need to be posted on the licensed establishment in a place that is visible to the public for 45 days. Check the renewal notice on the placards for dates that the placards must be posted.
  • During the 45-day placard period, a renewal application could be protested. If an application is protested, the protest would need to be resolved before the application can be reviewed by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.

All applications are subject to the review and approval of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.

Ask Questions

Licensees that have questions about renewals can contact ABRA's Licensing Division by emailing or calling (202) 442-4423.